It’s that time of year again, iron your best shirt, get your best dress out, it's time to reflect and celebrate what an amazing year it has been at the Students’ Union with the UWLSU awards sponsored by Bacardi. This year's theme is black and gold, think the Oscars but UWL style.

Each year UWLSU holds an annual awards ceremony to celebrate and look back on all of the amazing achievements of the year. For some of you, this is the final goodbye to friends, peers and team-mates. For others it's a chance to say thank you to those that have, and continue to inspire you. 

The awards are split into the following categories:

  • Sport
  • Societies and Academic Groups
  • Student representation
  • Individual achievement.

Do you know someone that deserves special recognition? Are you part of a group, team or society that has exceeded expectation or made a real difference to your University experience?

Make sure you nominate who you think is deserving and celebrate the year in style!

Key dates

  • Awards: Tuesday 24th April, 7-3am. Weston Hall

Final nominee's for the UWLSU Awards:

Course Rep - CNMH   Course Rep - LCM   Course Rep - CLBS
Janine Braithwaite   Andrada Popa   Nazila Aziziasl
Ellis Mac Elhatton   Holly Smith   Domenico Cavicchia
Laura Maratu   Ethan Bello    
Course Rep - SLC   Course Rep - LGHT   Course Rep - LSFMD
Michael Dhilwayo   Diana Ziedina   Joe Gibbons
    Francesca Light   Rachel Okungbowa
Course Rep - SHSS   Course Rep - SCE   Best Speakweek event
Katie Janes   Rory Dootson   Holly Smith, Neil Hazel & Ed Harris
Jessica Bogan    Marina Judith Khaintsa   Michael Dhilwayo
    Korlina Katarzyna Dluzniak    
Most Improved Society   Society Committee Member Society Member of the Year
LGBTQ   Ahdiya Yaqubzada (ISOC)   Sara Okungbowa (ACS)
Dance Society   George Howes (LGBTQ)   Daniel Warne (Blast)
Afro Caribbean    Rachel Okungbowa (ACS)   Billy Westwood (Blast)
Most Improved Sports Club   Sports Committee Member    
Women's Rugby   Andrew Quick (Rugby)    
Pole Fitness   Yasmin Shaw (Netball)    
Mixed Hockey   Harkiran Bassi (Womens Football)  
Sports Club Member of the Year   Best Single Achievement   Newcomer of the Year
Caitlin Wilcox   Netball - This Girl Can   Entrepreneurship Society
Jaymie Phow   Netball - Charity Foodbank   Solid Student Logic
Amy Monk   MNGR - Physical Magazine   Hip Hop Society
Sports Club of the Year   Society President of the Year Society of the Year
Netball   Luke Dixon (LGBTQ)   Islamic Society
Mens Football   Amber Watson (Blast)   LGBTQ
Mixed Hockey   Zhane Bailey (ACS)   Afro Caribbean Society
Sports Team Captain/President
Kirsty Hoggins
Josh Mickler
Euan McIntosh

How were the awards won/judged?

You nominated 826 times! But remember, these awards aren’t won on the number of nominations received, but on the strength of the nomination.

An independent judging panel judged the nominations for each award and picked a winner from a shortlist of the best nominations. 

Powered by

Registered Office: University of West London Students' Union, St Mary's Road, London W5 5RF
Registered in England Company Number: 8158543
Registered Charity Number: 1148594